The Student Council

The Student Council

The Student Council is the highest decision making body in the Student Union and consists of 20 regular members and 20 substitutes who are elected by secret, proportional elections every Autumn. The Student Council has a presidium which consists of the president, vice president and second vice president. The Student Council has members both from Helsinki and Vaasa campuses: the amount of members depends on the amount of votes. For the mandate period 2020-2021 we are 15 ordinary members and 10 deputy members from Helsinki, and 5 ordinary members and 3 deputy members from Vaasa.

The Student Council’s most important duties include deciding the budget for the Student Union, the Student Union fee, the business plan, and making the other big, strategic decisions for the Student Union. Furthermore the Student Council elects the President of the executive board and approves the rest of the board members. The Student Council oversees the board’s work and also elects the Presidents of all the SHS Committees. The Student Council also handles any motions that min. 10 student union members have signed.

The Students Council meets roughly once a month throughout the school year. The meetings are open for all members of the Student Union, which means that everyone is welcome to attend the meetings. The meetings are always in both campuses (Helsinki and Vaasa). Every year the members of the Student Council from Vaasa come to Helsinki for education days and the inaugural meeting, and it also is a tradition that the members from Helsinki travel up to Vaasa to have a meeting and join the Pampas Nationaldag -event.

As a student union member, you can best influence Student Councils work and decisions by candidating at the Student Council Elections. You can also influence on following ways:
● Vote at the Student Council Elections (pre-voting 17-21.10.2020, election days
● Contact the Student Council member you voted for
● Contact the Presidium of the Student Council
● Collect a signature of at least 10 student union members and send in a motion – Student
Council will take the issue up in their next meeting.

In case you have any questions, opinions or feedback – don’t hesitate to contact the president or anyone else from the presidium. I encourage all student union members to actively follow up the student council’s decisions (summaries and protocols can be found at since many of them affect SHS members. I hope that the coming year will consist of open discussions via which we can work for an even better student union. SHS catch-phrase is “Finland’s funnest Student Union” and I want everyone to feel like that is true and I want everyone at the student union to work with this in mind.

I yet want to emphasise that the Student Council meetings are open for all the student union members. You are more than welcome to come and listen to the discussion and the decisions what happen in the meetings. The time and place (Helsinki and Vaasa, in 2020 even online) for the meeting you will find at at least 10 days before the meeting.

Hopefully I will see you and hear from you during the upcoming year!

Best Regards,

Nicolina, Lydia and Emilia
The Student Council Presidium

Nicolina Massa, President of the Student Council at SHS 2020-21
Lydia Nystén, Vice President of the Student Council at SHS 2020-21
Emilia Hattula, Second Vice President of the Student Council at SHS and President of the Grand Committee 2020-21

This year’s council:

Regular members (electoral union):

Matthews JoyHelsingfors
William SundellHelsingfors
Ville RuokonenHelsingfors
Elsa KuulaVasa
Eliott TallqvistHelsingfors
Nelson JonesHelsingfors
Kiril KuhanenHelsingfors
Felix AndersonVasa
Nicole GustafssonHelsingfors
Oscar BymanHelsingfors
Jennifer HolmbergHelsingfors
Lydia NysténVasa
Sebastian StåhlbergHelsingfors
Emilia WinqvistHelsingfors
Annika LindströmHelsingfors
Robin ErikssonVasa
Fanny HindsbergHelsingfors
Nicolina MassaHelsingfors
Jonatan LångHelsingfors
Petteri TuokilaVasa

Substitutes (electoral union):

Fanny KestiHelsingfors
Emilia HattulaHelsingfors
Heidi HanhelaHelsingfors
Klaus AhlgrenVasa
Mikaela LöfströmHelsingfors
Erik JärviHelsingfors
Toni PakarinenHelsingfors
Julius ÅstrandVasa
Amos SchalinHelsingfors
Alexander ThermanHelsingfors
Timothy TedestamHelsingfors
Ylva EkmanVasa
Alexander SarinHelsingfors
Victor EkmanHelsingfors
Veera HellmanHelsingfors
Axel AarnioHelsingfors
Robin BerntzenHelsingfors